Deutsch | Imprint| Data protection

Business Intelligence

Business Intelligence (BI) is best described as business insights by means of professionally prepared data:

  • Environment: BI data may or may not be embedded in a complex DWH landscape. Complex ETL processes may possibly be required.
  • Volume: The data volume can be very large ('Big Data'). The
  • Focus is the analysis of internal business data (be it sales, production, behavioral, or other data). Competitive Intelligence usually focusses more on analysing business external data. The
  • Methods are from classical, hypothesis-driven statistics, as well as the more exploratory Data Mining or Data Science, and the corresponding standards , e.g. CRISP-DM 1.0, Catalyst, DFG, DeGEval / SEVAL, etc. With
  • Results in the shape of professionally processed data, as insight in the shape of key performance indicators ('KPIs'), texts (reports, executive summaries), lists and tables, visualizations, or as effective dashboards or cockpits (Visual Analysis) in
  • Real-time or at the push of a button you can see the state of an enterprise, a process or certain KPIs.
  • Objectives are:
    • Professionalism and transparency of methods and procedures
    • Modelling/Elimination of uncertainty
    • Generation of (better) results (Added Value)

BI does not look only into the past and answers the question: "What happened?" or "Why did it happen?". Predictive Analytics (see a selection at Advanced Analytics) and Data Mining try to answer "What will happen?" BI is not objective, however. The non-objectivity already begins with the selection of the fields, methods, and may well also end in the interpretation. Therefore it needs the input from the business side. The topics of an enterprise often make the difference:

Business-specific approaches may be:

  • Data/Business Process Modelling and Re-engineering
  • Analysis of Gap, Downtime, or Performance
  • SPC Statistical Quality Control
  • Development of especially business-specific customised KPIs
  • Genetic Algorithms (z.B. Travelling Salesman Problem)
  • Solution of special planning problems (i.a. Operations Research)
  • Data Quality (e.g. COPQ, Audit Trails, and criteria like completeness, missings, consistency, duplicates etc. BI is only as good as the quality of the data analysed.
  • Project related Management and Analysis Methods, e.g. SWOT Analysis, clarification of requirements and support (Stakeholder Mgmt), internal and external communication and documentation, and much more.
It does not need a large investment for powerful IT landscapes to introduce BI. Small steps may be enough in the beginning, see for example Analytics-as-a-Service. You will find examples of our successful AaaS Services at Success Stories. If they lead to success, so much the better. We do not want to sell software or build dependencies, but we sell added value. Benefit from our experience. Talk to us.

 
Contact Sitemap
1998-2024 Copyright by Method Consult Switzerland, Dr.Schendera

English| Impressum & AGBs | Datenschutz

Business Intelligence

Business Intelligence (BI) ist Einsicht in das eigene Unternehmen über professionell hergeleitete Erkenntnis:

  • Umgebung: BI Daten können, müssen aber nicht in eine komplexe DWH-Landschaft eingebettet sein. Komplexe ETL Prozesse können ggf. erforderlich sein.
  • Volumen: Das Datenvolumen kann sehr groß sein ('Big Data'). Der
  • Gegenstand ist das Analysieren von geschäftsinternen Daten (sei es Verkaufs-, Produktions-, Verhaltens-, oder sonstige Daten). Competitive Intelligence fokussiert eher das Analysieren von geschäftsexternen Daten. Die
  • Methoden stammen aus der klassischen, hypothesengeleiteten Statistik, wie auch dem eher explorativen Data Mining bzw. der Data Science, sowie die entsprechenden Standards, z.B. Catalyst, DFG, CRISP-DM 1.0, DeGEval/SEVAL, ICH etc. Mit dem
  • Ergebnis professionell aufbereiteter Daten, als Erkenntnis in Gestalt von Kennzahlen ("KPIs"), Texten (Reports, Executive Summarys), Listen und Tabellen, Visualisierungen, oder in Form von aussagekräftiger Dashboards oder Cockpits (Visual Analysis), die in
  • Echtzeit bzw. auf Knopfdruck den Stand eines Unternehmens, eines Prozesses oder bestimmter Kennzahlen anzeigen können.
  • Ziele sind:
    • Professionalität und Transparenz des Vorgehensweise
    • Modellierung/Eliminierung von Ungewissheit
    • Gewinnen von (besseren) Erkenntnissen (Mehrwert)

BI ist nicht nur in die Vergangenheit gerichtet und beantwortet die Frage: "Was war passiert?" oder "Warum ist es passiert?". Predictive Analytics (vgl. eine Auswahl unter Advanced Analytics) und Data Mining versuchen dagegen zu beantworten: "Was wird passieren?" BI ist allerdings nicht objektiv. Die Nicht-Objektivität beginnt bereits bei der Auswahl der Felder, der Methoden, und kann durchaus auch in die Interpretation münden, daher geht es nicht ohne Input von der Fachseite. Die Themen eines Unternehmen machen oft den Unterschied:

Als Auswahl an Business-spezifischen Ansätze können wir anbieten:

  • Data/Business Process Modelling und Reengineering
  • Analysen von Gap, Downtime, oder Performanz
  • SPC Statistische Qualitätskontrolle
  • Ermittlung speziell auf das Unternehmen zugeschnittener KPIs
  • Genetische Algorithmen (z.B. Travelling Salesman Problem)
  • Lösung speziellerer Planungsprobleme (u.a. Operations Research)
  • Datenqualität und Performanz (u.a. COPQ, Audit Trails, und Kriterien wie Vollständigkeit, Missings, Konsistenz, Doppelte etc. BI ist nur so gut wie die Qualität der Daten.
  • Projekt Management Methoden, z.B. SWOT Analyse, die Abklärung von Anforderungen und Unterstützung (Stakeholder Mgmt), die Kommunikation und Dokumentation nach innen und außen, und anderes mehr.
Um BI einzuführen, braucht es keine großen Investitionen für mächtige IT-Landschaften. Kleine Schritte anfangs können reichen, z.B. Analytics-as-a-Service. Beispiele unserer erfolgreichen AaaS Services finden Sie unter Success Stories.

Wenn kleine Schritte gleich ins Ziel bringen: Umso besser. Wir möchten keine Software verkaufen oder Abhängigkeiten aufbauen, sondern Mehrwert. Profitieren Sie von unserer Erfahrung. Sprechen Sie mit uns.

 
Kontakt Sitemap
1998-2014 Copyright by Method Consult Switzerland, Dr.Schendera