Deutsch | Imprint| Data protection

Research methods

Knowledge, insight and results depend on methods. This applies equally in Business, as well as in Academics. To be able to validate knowledge, you have to know in what way this knowledge has been achieved and assess, whether the methods used are capable to justify this knowledge. The complexity of research methods is underestimated often enough.

Research methods require in-depth knowledge in the fields of science and object theory, measurement and testing theory and technology, experimental design, data management, statistics, syntax programming, or the algorithms of various statistical programs etc. We have aquired this experience in years of researchpractice and are offering with pleasure.

But everything starts with an assumption, a theory...

Theory

People say theory is no use without practise. On the contrary: Research without theory is no science. Theories are the bases of action and decision in everyday life and in research. Theories are present on many levels of the research process: Theories of measurement or testing, statistics etc. Hypotheses or scientific laws are deducted from theories about the research object (object theory) and reflected again in form of empirical results. The superordinate meta theory (theory of sciences) instructs scientific action (methodology). Because they can not be completely reduced to observational terms, theoretical terms (eg open or hypothetical constructs) are only partially interpretable.

Method Consult offers years of experience in dealing with object or meta theories, hypotheses etc. from a lot of scientific fields. We help you from your data to a theory, and/or to get from your theory to your data: For example, we can help to compile theories, analyse them (eg on logic, systematics and consistency), and derive chains of axioms or statements and hypotheses, and to collect the corresponding observational data. We also help you in the opposite direction by weaving a red thread from your observational data back to your starting point theory ...

Interpretation

Research is a language game. Its meaning is fed by the theories and assumptions of these methods, models and designs, that are applied to the research object. Only certain interpretations are permitted within this framework. One has to learn this language before to be able to understand and mediate research. An insufficient methodical reflection leads only to an inadequate interpretation of, e.g. designs, results or hypotheses. Method Consult helps you to interpret science and research in all aspects (e.g. hypothesis formulation, statistics or design), for example, your data (e.g. distribution phenomenons), certain statistical conclusions (logics of research) or the outputs of several statistics packages. Examples:

  • e.g. hypothesis formulation
  • We check whether your research hypotheses are precise, clear, and practically testable. For example, the sentence "There are researchers who never err" is not a practically falsifiable hypothesis. We also prevent you from so-called "collective hypotheses"

  • e.g. methods
  • We check whether the chosen methods (experimental design, sampling, survey, analysis, etc.) are adequate for the research hypotheses, for example: Under no circumstances one must speak of measurement of change, when the design contains only one time point of measurement. If a test for a difference between two groups may not result in a statistical significance, this finding must not be misunderstood as if both groups were equal indeed.

  • e.g. data analysis and statistics
  • We check what statistical methods suitable for your data (i.e. by testing the requirements). Especially with multivariate analysis you have to consider many special requirements, bias, and effects: e.g. multicollinearity, mediation effects, regression and interaction effects, or the bias of different clustering methods.

  • e.g. results and interpretation
  • We check whether the results were obtained with appropriate methods, and also assist you with the statistical and substantive interpretation of your results, e.g. by explaining the outputs of various statistical programs, technical parameters and values, as well as the peculiarities of the statistical conclusion (logic of research). Statistical significance e.g. is closely related to the sample size, does not mean automatically clinical significance, and also, that a research hypothesis is ultimately proven.

  • e.g. literature analysis
  • We check the research literature that you provide on adherence to scientific standards. Trust, but verify. This way you are on the safe side.

Methods for Business and Academics (a selection):

These methods can be used in every field: Research, evaluation, diagnosis. This includes the application areas such as e.g. quality control and improvement, market research, opinion and product research, city marketing, tourism research, client / consumer surveys, epidemiology, biostatistics / bioanalytics etc. The groups of approaches are listed alphabetically and represent only a small part of our services.

Quantitative approaches

Quantitative methods can be further classified into (non)parametric subvariants according to the measurement level of the variables used and the theoretically expected data distributions. Quantitative and qualitative methods can be combined. For example, qualitative variables can be analysed statistically, if they are coded on nominal or ordinal scales.

Qualitative approaches

  • Observation (e.g. by video, photo and part-taking observation)
  • ex post-analyses (e.g. biographical and content analyses; CATI, CAPI, CAWI; atlas.ti, TEXTPAK, WINMAX)
  • Conversation (e.g. single interview, group discussion)

Qualitative methods aim to describe social phenomena from the subjective perspective of individuals concerned. In spite of this closeness to social reality, qualitative methods are not necessarily superior methods. A subtype, the monological approach, only appears to capture the subjective world view of the persons concerned - the person in focus is usually not asked for a verifying/validating feedback, e.g. in content analyses. A validating combination of qualitative and quantitative methods may suggest itself, depending on the question of research.

General Methods

  • Analysis of many known psycho- and sociometric inventories (e.g. BDI, BFS, BIP, BSRI, CBCL, IOE, FKB-20, GBB, GDS, HAKEMP, HAS, KKG, MLDL, MOS, OQ, PTSD, RMBPCL, SAM, SCL, STAI, STAXI)
  • tests of equivalence or difference
  • reports
  • data Entry (dual/double entry)
  • data checking, cleaning and management
  • designs
  • documentation
  • effect sizes
  • experiments
  • case-control Studies
  • sample calculations (sample size)
  • construction of questionnaires (question formulation, indices of difficulty, item analyses, selectivity, Cronbach's alpha, reliability, validity, etc.)
  • visual presentations
  • Interpretation
  • coding of data
  • plausibility analyses
  • power computations
  • sample drawing
  • trouble-shooting (optimisation of suboptimal designs, critical evaluation of studies and publications, debugging of programs, checking of questionnaires, etc.)
  • trial planning (randomisation/parallelisation, for details see section about Clinical Trials or the series by Dr. Schendera published in klinBiol, 2000-2001)

Customized Research Methods

Special methods can be also developed and applied for the specific standards of your project. These project-specific methods would be customized to exactly fit your research requirement and your project (products, processes), and would meet quality standards of test and measurement theory. You specify what is to be measured and how it is to be done. You would not only learn what you want to know. You would also know exactly why you know it. If you want. Ask for further information.

 
Contact Sitemap
1998-2024 Copyright by Method Consult Switzerland, Dr.Schendera

English| Impressum & AGBs | Datenschutz

Forschungsmethoden

Wissen, Erkenntnis und Resultate sind methodenabhängig. Dies gilt gleichermaßen im Business, wie auch im Academics Bereich. Um vorhandenes Wissen überprüfen zu können, muß man wissen, auf welchem Weg dieses Wissen zustande gekommen ist, und beurteilen können, ob mit den verwendeten Methoden überhaupt das betreffende Wissen begründet werden kann. Die Komplexität von Forschungsmethoden wird oft genug unterschätzt.

Forschungsmethoden erfordern profunde Kenntnisse im Bereich von Wissenschafts- und Objekttheorie, Meß- und Testtheorie, Versuchsplanung, spezieller Meß- und Test-Technologie, Data-Management, Statistik und u.a. der Syntax bzw. den Algorithmen diverser Statistikprogramme. Diese Erfahrung haben wir in jahrelanger Forschungspraxis erworben und bieten Sie Ihnen gerne an.

Alles beginnt jedoch mit einer Vermutung, einer Theorie...

Theorie

Theorie ist weder grau, noch überflüssig. Im Gegenteil: Forschung ohne Theorie ist keine Wissenschaft. Theorien sind Grundlage des Handelns und Entscheidens im Alltag wie in der Forschung. Theorie ist auf vielen Ebenen des Forschungsprozesses gegenwärtig: Mess-, Testtheorie, Statistik usw. Aus Theorien über den Forschungsgegenstand (Objekttheorie) werden Hypothesen oder Gesetze abgeleitet, und in Gestalt empirischer Resultate wieder zurückbezogen. Die übergeordnete Metatheorie (Wissenschaftstheorie) leitet die wissenschaftliche Vorgehensweise an (Methodologie). Weil sie sich übrigens nicht vollständig auf Beobachtungsbegriffe zurückführen lassen, sind theoretische Begriffe (z.B. offene bzw. hypothetische Konstrukte) auch nur partiell interpretierbar.

Method Consult bietet jahrelange Erfahrung im Umgang mit Objekt-/Metatheorien, Hypothesen usw. aus vielen Wissenschaftsbereichen. Wir helfen Ihnen, von Ihren Daten zur Theorie, und/oder von Ihrer Theorie zu Ihren Daten zu finden. Wir helfen Ihnen z.B. Theorien zusammenzustellen, zu analysieren (z.B. auf Logik, Systematik und Widerspruchsfreiheit), und Axiom- bzw. Satzketten und Hypothesen abzuleiten, und die dazugehörigen Beobachtungsdaten zu erheben. Wir helfen Ihnen auch in der umgekehrten Richtung: Von Ihren Beobachtungsdaten wieder einen roten Faden hin zu Ihrer Ausgangstheorie zurückzuknüpfen...

Interpretation

Forschung ist ein komplexes Sprachspiel. Ihre Bedeutung speist sich aus den Theorien und Annahmen der Methoden, Modelle und Designs, die an den Untersuchungsgegenstand angelegt werden. Dieser Rahmen lässt nur ganz bestimmte Interpretationen zu, bzw. setzt Annahmen und adäquat interpretierte Voraussetzungen voraus. Um Forschung verstehen und vermitteln zu können, muss diese Sprache erlernt werden, um eine unangemessene Interpretation von z.B. Designs, Ergebnissen oder auch Hypothesen von Anfang an zu vermeiden. Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Interpretation auf allen nur denkbaren Ebenen.

  • z.B. Hypothesenformulierung
  • Wir überprüfen, ob Ihre Forschungshypothesen präzise, eindeutig, und praktisch prüfbar sind. Der Satz "Es gibt Forscher, die niemals irren" ist z.B. keine praktisch falsifizierbare Hypothese. Wir bewahren Sie auch vor sog. "Sammelhypothesen"

  • z.B. Methoden
  • Wir prüfen, ob die gewählten Methoden (Versuchsplanung, Ziehung, Befragung, Auswertung, etc.) den Forschungshypothesen angemessen sind. Wenn ein Design nur einen Messzeitpunkt enthält, kann z.B. in der Interpretation keinesfalls von Veränderungsmessung gesprochen werden. Wenn z.B. ein Test auf einen Unterschied zwischen zwei Gruppen nicht signifikant ausfällt, darf dieser Befund nicht so interpretiert werden, dass beide Gruppen gleich seien.

  • z.B. Daten und Statistik
  • Wir überprüfen, welche statistischen Verfahren für Ihre Daten geeignet sind (u.a. Voraussetzungstests). Gerade bei multivariaten Analysen gibt es viele spezielle Voraussetzungen, Bias, und Effekte zu beachten: u.a. Multikollinearität, Mediationseffekte, Regressions- und Interaktionseffekte, oder die Bias der verschiedenen Clusterverfahren.

  • z.B. Ergebnisse und Interpretation
  • Wir prüfen, ob die erzielten Ergebnisse mit angemessenen Verfahren gewonnen wurden, und unterstützen Sie bei der statistischen und inhaltlichen Interpretation Ihrer Ergebnisse, indem wir Ihnen z.B. die Outputs diverser Statistikprogramme, spezielle Kennwerte, wie auch die Besonderheiten statistischer Schlüsse (Forschungslogik) erläutern. Statistische Signifikanz hängt z.B. eng mit der Stichprobengröße zusammen, bedeutet nicht automatisch auch klinische Bedeutsamkeit, und dass eine Forschungshypothese endgültig bewiesen ist.

  • z.B. Literaturanalyse
  • Wir prüfen von Ihnen bereitgestellte Forschungsliteratur auf das Einhalten wissenschaftlicher Standards. Vertrauen ist gut, Kontrolle ist besser. Sie befinden sich so auf der sicheren Seite.

Methoden für Business und Academics (eine Auswahl):

Diese Methoden können in jedem Bereich eingesetzt werden: Forschung, Evaluation, Diagnostik. Darunter fallen die Anwendungsbereiche wie z.B. Qualitätskontrolle und -verbesserung, Marktforschung, Meinungs- und Produktforschung, Städtemarketing, Tourismusforschung, Klienten-/Kundenbefragungen, Epidemiologie, Biostatistik/Bioanalytik usw. Die jew. Verfahrensgruppen sind alphabetisch aufgelistet und stellen nur einen Teil unseres Angebots dar. Fragen Sie bitte wegen Details bzw. Spezialverfahren direkt an.

Quantitative Verfahren

Die quantitativen Verfahren können nach dem Meßniveau der verwendeten Variablen und der theoretisch erwarteten Verteilungsform der Daten in weitere (nicht)parametrische Untervarianten eingeteilt werden. Quantitative und qualitative Verfahren sind kombinierbar. Qualitative Variablen können statistisch ausgewertet werden, wenn sie nominal bzw. ordinal-skaliert kodiert sind.

Qualitative Verfahren

  • Beobachtung (z.B. Film, Foto und teilnehmende Beobachtung)
  • Ex-post-Analysen (z.B. biographische und Inhaltsanalyse, computergestützte Verfahren, z.B. atlas.ti, TEXTPAK, WINMAX)
  • Gespräch (z.B. Einzelinterview, Gruppendiskussion)

Qualitative Verfahren haben den Anspruch, soziale Phänomene aus der subjektiven Perspektive der betroffenen Akteure zu beschreiben. Trotz dieser Nähe zur sozialen Realität sind qualitative Verfahren nicht uneingeschränkt die besseren Verfahren. Unter den qualitativen Verfahren gibt es z.B. sog. monologische Ansätze, die die subjektive Weltsicht der betroffenen Personen nur scheinbar erfassen, weil sie die untersuchten Personen selbst gar nicht fragen (z.B. Inhaltsanalyse). Eine validierende Kombination von qualitativen und quantitativen Verfahren ist die naheliegende Lösung.

Allgemeine Verfahren

  • Auswertung vieler bekannter psycho- bzw. soziometrischer Skalen (u.a. BDI, BFS, BIP, BSRI, CBCL, IOE, FKB-20, GBB, GDS, HAKEMP, HAS, KKG, MLDL, MOS, OQ, PTSD, RMBPCL, SAM, SCL, STAI, STAXI)
  • Äquivalenz-/Differenztests
  • Berichte
  • Dateneingabe (dual/double entry)
  • Datenüberprüfung, -pflege und -management
  • Design
  • Dokumentation
  • Effektgrößen
  • Experimente
  • Fall-Kontroll-Studien
  • Fallzahlenberechnungen
  • Fragebogenkonstruktion (Frageformulierung, Schwierigkeitsindizes, Itemanalysen, Trennschärfe, Cronbach's Alpha, Reliabilität, Validität, etc.)
  • Graphische Präsentation
  • Interpretation
  • Kodierungen
  • Plausibilitätsanalysen
  • Power-Berechnungen
  • Samplesize-Berechnungen (Stichprobenumfänge)
  • Stichprobenziehung
  • Skalenkonstruktion
  • trouble-shooting (Optimierung von suboptimalen Designs, kritische Evaluation von Studien und Veröffentlichungen, Debugging eines Programms, Prüfen von Fragebögen, etc.)
  • Versuchsplanung (Randomisierung/Parallelisierung, siehe auch den Abschnitt zu Clinical Trials oder die Reihe von CFG Schendera in klinBiol 2001-2000)

Spezielle Methoden

Für die besonderen Anforderungen Ihres Projekts können spezielle Verfahren entwickelt und eingesetzt werden. Diese projektspezifische Verfahren wären genau auf Ihre Fragestellung, auf Ihr Projekt (Produkt, Abläufe) hin maßgeschneidert und erfüllen mess- und testtheoretische Gütekriterien. Sie bestimmen, wie und was gemessen wird. Sie erfahren nicht nur, was Sie wissen wollen. Sie würden auch genau wissen, warum Sie etwas wissen. Fragen Sie nach.

 
Kontakt Sitemap
1998-2014 Copyright by Method Consult Switzerland, Dr.Schendera