Deutsch | Imprint| Data protection

Statistical Programming and Application Development

Data analysis can be done in several ways. In principle, we are programming our analyses with i.a. SAS or SPSS. Programs are typical for Analytics-as-a-Service (AaaS). Typical examples are:

  • 2015: Reverse Engineering: Transformation of a low-performance, buggy and manually started non-SAS program into a high-performance, error-free and automatically triggered SAS program at a large insurance company. In view of the gravity of the situation, the SAS programming followed SOP BIO5, and its validation in accordance with SOP BIO6. To illustrate: The volume of this set of largely undocumented non-original SAS program was approximately 300 A4 pages.
  • 2013: Statistical Programming: Programming of the complex extrapolation of the Census 2011. Adaptation of the cells to projected margins of 1.440 communities in 65 model variants. Visualization of a total of 93.600 models and multiples of Goodness of fit parameters. Execution as SAS Stored Process . Control via an intuitive "cockpit" with just a few "switches". Data volume:> 5,50E+09 (5,5+ billion) data lines (main application). Programming languages: SAS Macro Facility, in that SAS Base, PROC IML, SAS Hash Programming, PROC SQL and SAS procedures MEANS, TABULATE and GRAPH. Length of the two SAS programs for the main application in DIN A4 pages: 60 (ETL: 40 Analysis: 20). We are happy to provide a reference.
You will find more examples of our successful AaaS Services at Success Stories. The main reasons of also our customers are (see also Schendera, 2011, 2005):

  • Programs are the foundation of customised analyses and applications.
  • Programs are transparent and facilitate documentation.
  • Generally, programs are more efficient than point-and-click analyses.
  • Programs allow repeated analyses at minimum extra cost.
  • Client are able to integrate validated programs into their own operations and execute them there, e.g. by their own employees, automatically as a macro, as a Stored Process, or by applications such as EG, DI, or UC4.
  • Optionally, programs may be expanded by other functions or integrated in special environments (Dashboards, MI or portals).
  • Depending on the proportion of analysis (Statistics, Business) and programming, the complexity of the analysis (and know-how required), the system environment in which the data are stored, and the desired product, this role is referred to as: Statistical Analyst, Business Analyst Using SAS, Statistical Programmer, or Application Developer. The transitions are fluid.

Analysis may also include programming, e.g. as a requirement:

  • Interfaces i.a. for data access (PC files, DWH tables etc.), e.g. csv/txt, ACCESS, EXCEL, Filemaker, ORACLE, SAS, SPSS, Teradata, etc.
  • ETL processes (ETL: Extraction, Transformation, Load). ETL integrates distributed data for an analysis. You find examples of powerful ETL processes i.a. at Success Stories.
  • Data Quality: Data undergo regular Quality Checks, i.a. including Timeliness, Consistency, Completeness, and other criteria.
  • Performance: The processing is being programmed efficiently for i.a. storage, I/O and CPU (see Schendera, 2012).

Our SAS Expertise is, for example

  • SAS Languages: SAS® Base, PROC SQL, SAS Macro Facility Language, Output Delivery System, PROC IML, DS2 Programming Language, SAS Annotate, Hash Programming etc.
  • SAS Applications / Front-Ends: Enterprise Miner, Enterprise Guide 6.1-2, Data Integration Studio 4.3, Analyst, INSIGHT, JMP 9-5, Assist, LAB, Research Analyst, SPECTRAVIEW, Market Research Application, Time Series Forecasting System, ODS Graphics Designer/Editor, Output Delivery System (ODS) etc.
  • SAS Modules: Almost all procedures for statistics, data management and visualization, above all also numerous procedures and functionalities from SAS9.4 back to SAS 6.08, for example: ACCESS®, Analyst Application, ASSIST®, Base, CONNECT®, Enterprise Guide, ETS, FSP, GRAPH, INSIGHT, IML, LAB, OR, QC, STAT.
  • More applications and languages: z.B. SPSS Statistics, SPSS Modeller, KNIME, R, RWArd, R Commander, Python, HTML, UC4, Korn Shell Scripting.
Programming of analyses or applications may be launched by: Specification sheet (technical specification), by call, or in dialogue with us.

For further requirements, please feel free to contact us.

 
Contact Sitemap
1998-2021 Copyright by Method Consult Switzerland, Dr.Schendera

English| Impressum & AGBs | Datenschutz

Statistische Programmierung und Anwendungsentwicklung

Die Analyse von Daten kann auf mehrere Arten erfolgen. Wir programmieren unsere Analysen vorrangig mit SAS und SPSS. Programme sind typisch für Analytics-as-a-Service (AaaS). Aktuelle Beispiele sind:

  • 2015: Reverse-Engineering: Überführung eines nonperformanten, buggy und manuell gestarteten non-SAS Programms in ein performantes, fehlerfreies und automatisch getriggertes SAS Programm bei einer großen Versicherung. Angesichts der kritischen Situation erfolgte die SAS Programmierung gemäß SOP BIO5, und ihre Validierung gemäß SOP BIO6. Zur Veranschaulichung: Der Umfang des Konvoluts des weitgehend nicht dokumentierten original non-SAS Programms betrug ca. 300 DIN A4 Seiten.
  • 2013: Statistical Programming: Programmierung der komplexen Hochrechnung des Zensus 2011. Anpassung der Zellen an hochgerechnete Ränder für 1.440 Gemeinden in 65 Modellvarianten. Visualisierung von insgesamt 93.600 Modellen und dem Mehrfachen an Goodness of Fit-Parametern. Ausführung als SAS Stored Process. Steuerung über ein intuitiv bedienbares "Cockpit" mit wenigen "Schaltern". Datenvolumen: >5,50E+09 (5,5+ Milliarden) Datenzeilen (Hauptanwendung). Programmiersprachen: SAS Macro Facility, darin SAS Base, PROC IML, SAS Hash Programming, PROC SQL, sowie die SAS Prozeduren MEANS, TABULATE und GRAPH. Länge der beiden SAS Programme für die Hauptanwendung in DIN A4 Seiten: 60 (ETL: 40, Analyse: 20). Gerne weisen wir eine Referenz vor.
Weitere Beispiele unserer erfolgreichen AaaS Services finden Sie unter Success Stories. Die wichtigsten Gründe auch unserer Kunden sind (vgl. auch Schendera, 2011, 2005):

  • Programme sind Grundlage maßgeschneiderter Analysen und Anwendungen.
  • Programme sind transparent und erleichtern die Dokumentation.
  • Programme sind i.A. leistungsfähiger als Point-und-Click Analysen.
  • Programme ermöglichen wiederholte Analysen zu minimalem Mehraufwand.
  • Auftraggeber können validierte/getestete Programme in den eigenen Betrieb übernehmen und dort aufrufen lassen, z.B. von eigenen Mitarbeitern, automatisch als Makro, als Stored Process, oder über Anwendungen wie z.B. EG, DI, oder UC4.
  • Programme können auf Wunsch um weitere Funktionalitäten erweitert oder in spezielle Umgebungen (Dashboards, MI oder Portale) integriert werden.
  • Je nach Verhältnis von Analyse (Statistics, Business) und Programmierung, der Komplexität der Analyse (und erforderlichem Know-How), der Systemumgebung, in der die Daten abgelegt sind, und des gewünschten Produkts wird diese Rolle bezeichnet als: Statistical Analyst, Business Analyst Using SAS, Statistical Programmer, oder auch Application Developer. Die Übergänge sind fließend.

Analyse kann als Anforderung u.a. Programmierung mit umfassen:

  • Schnittstellen u.a. für den Datenzugriff (PC Dateien, DWH Tabellen, etc.), z.B. csv/txt, ACCESS, EXCEL, Filemaker, ORACLE, SAS, SPSS, Teradata, etc.
  • ETL Prozesse (ETL: Extraktion, Transformation, Laden). ETL führt verteilte Daten in einer Analyse zusammen. Beispiele mächtiger ETL Prozesse finden Sie u.a. unter Success Stories.
  • Datenqualität: Daten regelmäßigen Quality Checks unterziehen, u.a. auf Aktualität, Konsistenz, Vollständigkeit, oder andere Kriterien.
  • Performanz: Die Verarbeitung ist vorteilhaft für u.a. Speicherplatz, I/O und CPU programmiert (vgl. Schendera, 2012).

Unsere SAS Expertise ist z.B.

  • SAS Sprachen: SAS® Base, PROC SQL, SAS Macro Facility Language, Output Delivery System, PROC IML, DS2 Programming Language, SAS Annotate, Hash Programming etc.
  • SAS Anwendungen / Front-Ends: Enterprise Miner, Enterprise Guide 6.1-2, Data Integration Studio 4.3, Analyst, INSIGHT, JMP 9-5, Assist, LAB, Research Analyst, SPECTRAVIEW, Market Research Application, Time Series Forecasting System, ODS Graphics Designer/Editor, Output Delivery System (ODS) etc.
  • SAS Module: Annähernd alle Prozeduren zu Statistik, Datenmanagement und Visualisierung, darüber hinaus zahlreiche Prozeduren und Funktionen aus SAS9.4 zurück bis SAS 6.08. Zum Beispiel: ACCESS®, Analyst Application, ASSIST®, Base, CONNECT®, Enterprise Guide, ETS, FSP, GRAPH, INSIGHT, IML, LAB, OR, QC, STAT.
  • Weitere Anwendungen und Sprachen: z.B. SPSS Statistics, SPSS Modeller, KNIME, R, RWArd, R Commander, Python, HTML, UC4, Korn Shell Scripting.
Die Programmierung von Analysen oder Anwendungen kann erfolgen mittels: Pflichtenheft (Fachspezifikation), Zuruf, oder im Dialog.

Für weitere Anforderungen stehen wir gerne zur Verfügung.

 
Kontakt Sitemap
1998-2015 Copyright by Method Consult Switzerland, Dr.Schendera